Hats Hats Hats

June 27, 2009 Rena

Accessorize Me!

Scott Gries / Getty Images

Scott Gries / Getty Images

Coming from the Mercedes Benz Spring 2009 Fashion Week in NYC is the comback (or continuation?) of HATS!

Wear It:

Hats are easy!  The best hats are those that compliment your face shape.  The links under “More Reads” will help you find your face shape, and once you know it (or if you already do) check out these recommendations:

Long Face - wide brim, low crown:

StyleWithAnna.com

StyleWithAnna.com

Square Face – large brim:

StyleWithAnna.com

StyleWithAnna.com

Round Face – angular or high brim/crown (this is me and I think these hats and newsboy hats look the best):

StyleWithAnna.com

StyleWithAnna.com

Oval Face – any style! You’re lucky!  The possibilities are endless…

StyleWithAnna.com

StyleWithAnna.com

StyleWithAnna.com, where I got these photos, gave some great examples of how to wear hats which pertain to your face type.

More Reads:

What kind of hat fits your personality and your head?  Browse through some tips from these sites:

eHow.com – Savvy site!  Very simple, plain directions on wearing the right hat

VivaWomen.net – Informational blog posting about hats – has a chart from Life & Style you can enlarge!

PreciousandPleasant.com –  This site can help you determine your face-shape!

Also check out types of Hats at About.com

Any type of hat is stylish right now as long as it fits you!  Meaning, it fits your personality, your head, and your style. As with all accessories, you want the hat to compliment what you’re wearing, not take away from it.  Stay away from hats you personally don’t like as well.  For me, being comfortable in an accessory adds confidence and let’s me rock a style that I never have before!

Entry Filed under: Accessorize Your Week

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Down2earthlupie  |  June 28, 2009 at 8:35 am

    First of all I love the format with accessorize me, wear it and more reads. I really like the photos, because I love hats, but I never know what would look best on me. Now I’m a little more closer to buying that “perfect” hat for the summer. The links on the more reads are great. I also like the questionnaire, now I have to do one on my blog. Thanks for all the fashion advice…lord knows I need it since I’m always in a uniform day in and day out.

    Down2earthlupie

    • 2. Rena  |  July 4, 2009 at 3:31 am

      Thanks for the comment! Glad I can inspire to find the perfect hat! Some days it’s my most important accessory since my hair is often wild :) I got the questionnaire from PollDaddy.com and God willing I finally got it to work! Good luck with it and email me if you try and put it on your blog and need help!

  • 3. Matthew  |  June 29, 2009 at 4:46 am

    I’d always heard you should pick your haircut based on the shape of your face but never thought of picking a hat the same way, too. And all this time, I’ve just been throwing on a Red Sox hat only thinking of the color. Who knew?

    • 4. Rena  |  July 4, 2009 at 3:34 am

      LOL I think you should pick blue like Yankees colors instead; they may be more flattering? :) Glad my site can benefit both guys and gals!

  • 5. Saralee  |  July 2, 2009 at 2:00 am

    I love hats, warm in the winter, cool in the summer. Your blog helped me remember to consider my face shape (oval) when choosing. Maybe that’s why I haven’t found the just right cowboy hat for Colorado. I’m ready to add to my summer collection and now is a great time. Took to poll, too. I’m rocking it.

    • 6. Rena  |  July 4, 2009 at 3:34 am

      Thanks for the comment! You definitely have to find the right hat for the face. When I first started rocking the hat thing I was like, why do some hats look stupid and some don’t?!? Then I started looking around and seeing some of the differences and it made me feel so much better about what hats to buy. Makes a big diff!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

